Writing About History is Fun: the Story of John Witherspoon

Most of you know that I work in a medieval castle in central Scotland. Yes, it is a very cool job.

I have recently had a chance to start writing some pieces for my company blog. These will often have a connection to Doune Castle, where I work.

Here’s the first one. It’s about a man who narrowly escaped a sticky end in Scotland due to the foolishness of youth. He then went on to travel halfway across the world, to eventually be part of something of great importance.

Many of you will also know Doune Castle’s connection to the hit TV show Outlander, with its story of the Jacobite hero Jamie Fraser and his adventures in the American colonies. But did you know that the truth is every bit as exciting as fiction? Click below to meet:

John Witherspoon!

Do head to the Historic Environment Scotland blog above and find out who he was. I hope you enjoy reading about him – I certainly enjoyed writing about him!

Portrait of John Witherspoon by Charles Willson Peale, c. 1790


Doune Castle at sunrise, taken by me

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.